## The California State University, Los Angeles

California State University, Los Angeles was established by the Legislature on July 2, 1947, as "The Los Angeles State College." In 1949, the Los Angeles State College was reconstituted by the Legislature as "The Los Angeles State College of Applied Arts and Sciences." In 1964, the Board of Trustees of the California State Colleges changed the name of the college to the "California State College at Los Angeles," in 1968 to "California State College, Los Angeles," and in 1972 to "California State University, Los Angeles."

From 1947 to 1955, the college shared the campus of the Los Angeles City College. In 1956 the college moved to its present campus of one hundred and seventy-five acres in the northeastern section of the City of Los Angeles, five miles east of the Civic Center. A total of 18 permanent buildings, representing a financial investment by the State of California of more than \$100 million, stand on a plateau that serves as a refreshing oasis in the center of the Los Angeles region.

A faculty of about 700 full-time and 385 part-time professors serves a student body of some 19,000 men and women. Bachelor's degrees are offered in 58 fields, master's degrees in 53, and the doctor's degree is offered in one field jointly with the University of California, Los Angeles.

The Presidents of California State University, Los Angeles have been P. Victor Peterson (1947-49), Howard S. McDonald (1949-62), Albert D. Graves (1962-63), Franklyn Arthur Johnson (1963-66), John A. Greenlee (1966-79), <u>and James M. Rosser (1979-2013)</u>, WILLIAM A. COVINO (2013-23), LEROY M. MORISHITA (2023-24), AND BERENECEA JOHNSON EANES (2024-).